ESSWE home


Call for Nominations ESSWE Thesis Prize 2023

2022-10-31 10:31 | ESSWE admin (Administrator)

Nominations are invited for the ESSWE PhD Thesis prize, awarded by the European Society for the Study of Western Esotericism.

Prize: The prize will be given for an outstanding PhD. thesis defended in 2022 on any aspect of Western Esotericism. Candidates for the prize must be members of the ESSWE. The thesis must have been approved formally by the nominee’s thesis committee, but the degree need not have been formally awarded. The prize will not be awarded if no submissions are deemed qualified.

Notification & Certification: The prize-winner will be notified in April 2023 and will receive an award of €500 and a certificate, to be presented at the ESSWE conference in Malmö, Sweden 26-28 June 2023. The ESSWE will also make a substantial contribution to travel expenses and lodging costs, and the conference fee will be waived.

Publication: The thesis will also be recommended for publication in the ARIES Book Series, though the final decision on publication will be taken by the ARIES Book Series editorial board.

Nomination: Nominations must be made by email to the Chair of the Prize Committee, Jenny Butler (University College Cork, by 15 January 2023. The nominator must be a faculty member at the institution that awards the nominee’s PhD degree, or a member of the nominee’s thesis committee. Each nominator may make only one nomination. The applications should consist of pdf files of the following material:

  1. A one-page description of the thesis and motivation why it is nominated for the prize
  2. The nominee’s thesis
  3. Documentation to show that the thesis has been approved

Item 1 needs to be in English, whereas items 2 and 3 can be in English, French, German, Italian, or Spanish.

The Prize Committee consists of: Jenny Butler (Chair), University College Cork, Ireland; Andreas Kilcher, Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule Zürich, Switzerland; Nemanja Radulovic, University of Belgrade, Serbia.

Henrik Bogdan

Secretary of the ESSWE

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software