Loading.. new window reload
This website is AJAX compatible

Validated by HTML Validator
spcr spcr spcr
spcr Articles and Byelaws, ESSWE

Articles and Byelaws

The ESSWE was incorporated under Dutch law on 21 April 2005 in Amsterdam.

ESSWE is governed by its Articles, and by Byelaws made under those articles.

Since the ESSWE was incorporated under Dutch law, the official version of the Articles of Association is in Dutch (available here). An English translation is provided here.

The collected Byelaws currently in force (in English) are provided here:

A: Membership

1)      In response to a request for admission as a member, the Membership Secretary will decide which membership category is appropriate. When in doubt, the Membership Secretary will consult an ad hoc committee consisting of the President, the Vice-President and a third person chosen by the President and the Vice-President. (Byelaw passed 21 June 2008 and amended 23 June 2010)

2)      Persons who do not have a current university affiliation normally become associate members. Only under the most exceptional circumstances will the Board consider giving full membership to persons without such a university affiliation, and then normally only to those who have a relevant PhD degree. In order to consider such cases, the Board will request a CV, a list of published works, and one representative article or book chapter. (Byelaw passed July 6, 2011)

3)      In cases where a member of the Board proposes that an existing member’s membership category is not appropriate, the President will appoint and chair an ad hoc committee to decide on this. The member in question will be informed of the creation of this committee and will be invited to present appropriate evidence to it. The committee will report its decision to the member and to the following Board meeting. (Byelaw passed 21 June 2008)

4)      Requests for student membership must be supported by a copy of a valid student card. Student membership will last for a maximum of five years, after which the member has to re-apply for membership, either as a full member or, in exceptional cases, as a continuing student member (in which case a copy of a valid student card will again be required). (Byelaw passed 21 June 2008)

5)      Persons registered as Ph.D. students at a recognized university may choose between applying for student membership of the Society (in which case they benefit from reduced fees) and full membership of the Society (in which case they may vote and serve on the Board). (Byelaw passed 2 July 2009 and amended 23 June 2010)

B: Board

1)      A person registered as a student above the BA level at a recognized university may, in response to the proposal of a group of such students, be invited to attend Board meetings as a non-voting representative for renewable one-year periods, there to be one such representative at a time. (Byelaw passed 23 June 2010)

C: Prize

1)      A biannual prize of EUR 500.00 and a certificate will be awarded by the ESSWE, to be presented during the biannual conference. Each prize will be awarded by a committee chaired by a Board Member appointed by the Board for this purpose. Two other judges will be appointed to the committee by the committee chair. (Byelaw passed 21 June 2008)

D: Conference organization

1)      The Congress Supervisor will be requested to divide the program committee into two teams   

a)           The Supervisor and two persons around him/her, the so-called local team. The local team will be responsible for practical matters.

b)           The Supervisor and two delegates of the Board of ESSWE, the so-called review team. The review team will be responsible for the selection of papers to be   presented from among those that are proposed. Decisions will be made democratically by majority vote. (Byelaw passed July 1, 2009)

2)      There will be no blind review of paper proposals. (Byelaw passed July 1, 2009)

3)      The conference should never be a podium for political activists. (Byelaw passed July 1, 2009)

spcr spcr bg-rb